Return to University Health's Homepage.

Wall of Honor

Wall of Honor

Texas Diabetes Institute Wall of Honor

Every year, the Texas Diabetes Institute (TDI) recognizes an individual of Bexar County, Texas, to be inducted onto the prestigious Wall of Honor. This distinction is awarded to extraordinary individuals who significantly contribute to the awareness and prevention of diabetes.

The Dr. Saul Treviño Wall of Honor celebrates a pioneer doctor who taught diabetes management by encouraging his patients to eat right and exercise regularly. The Saul Treviño Wall of Honor recognizes individuals and organizations of Bexar County who have significantly contributed to the fight against diabetes. The event is sponsored by the University Health Foundation.

Past inductees

2001 Elvira M. Cisneros
2002 Luis Roberto Vera, Jr.
2003 Lawrence B. Harkless, DPM
2004 Paul Elizondo, Bexar County Commissioner Precinct 2
2005 Robert P. Treviño, MD
2006 John A. Guest
2007 Col. Roy W. Burley
2008 The Lo Bello de San Antonio Women’s Club
2009 Ralph A. DeFronzo, MD
2010 Roberto L. Jimenez, MD
2011 Magda Ortiz, RN (Awarded Posthumously)
2012 Daniel E. Hale, MD
2013 The Aguillon Family
2014 YMCA of Greater San Antonio
2015 George B. Hernández, Jr.
2016 American Diabetes Association
2016 Eugenio Cersosimo, MD, PhD
2016 Carlos A. Rosende, MD, F.A.C.S.
2017 Theresa De La Haya, MPH, RN
2017 Curtis Triplitt, PharmD CDE
2017 San Antonio Food Bank
2018 William L. Henrich, MD, MACP
2018 Rosemary H. Kowalski
2018 The Witte Museum
2019 Francisco G. Cigarroa, MD
2019 Dr. Adena Williams Loston
2019 Univision

Inaugural Commissioner Paul Elizondo Leadership Legacy Award

Judge Nelson W. Wolff